Does a writer have time to blog?

September 22, 2012 § Leave a comment

We encountered this look out while semi-lost in Maine one day this summer. I think the view alone was worth getting lost.

Ok, before you say “duh,” humor me for a moment.  When I began this blog which has seen intermittent posts since 2011 I did it as a way to keep my writing muscles flexing during what seemed to be a stalemate in my dissertation research process (that’s putting a long story short).  So I began to procrastinate blog to talk about my various other interests besides 19th and early 20th century cultural legacies of the Black Atlantic, and the results were inspiring.  I found out I had lots to say about many other things, and that my prude nature made it possible for me to shift between the every day politics of living, eating, sleeping (or lack thereof) to politics with a big P.  I was able to traverse pastimes and meal times, and all the while I sometimes wondered if you, whoever you are besides my faithful mother and dedicated family and friends were still with me.  I tried to box myself into a niche or genre, but my seven plus years in academia have rebelled such boxing and niching.  So I apologized for the irregularity, and the all over  variety of content.  But now, seeing has how my last post was about six months ago, and a lot has happened since then, I feel that I should return to this space, if for nothing else then to do what I originally came here to do, which is flex my writing muscles.

Now I’ve gone over this a few hundred times, will it take away from ALL the other writing that must be done, or will it help?  You see, in addition to dissertating I also write poetry and fiction, proposals and pamphlets.  I consider myself a Jill of all trades when it comes to writing and coaching writing and this is a blessing which I am truly thankful for. However, all blessings come responsibility.  We must look at how we are using are gifts and whether we are helping others, which to me is the main reason gifts are given.  So that said I want to return to this space as a gift giver, not simply a blogger who talks about anything they can get their hands on.  I want to return as someone with something to offer to you, the reader.  I want to return and return with some sense of formality – not just disappear again.  So I ask again, does a writer have time to blog?  Probably not, which is why I think I don’t blog (blogging takes up a lot of time and turns into a full-time job for some).  Instead, I write very thoughtful mini essays that reflect the things that I am working on, thinking about, experiencing and pontificating.  My images are few and usually sourced from existing stock images.  My posts are longish and usually require a six-minute read, but hopefully you won’t mind, because one thing I have realized during my hiatus is that every good writer, needs an even better reader to keep them going.

Sincerely,

Prude

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Does a writer have time to blog? at The Prude Papers.

meta

