Oil of Oregano…where have you been all my life?

January 25, 2012 § Leave a comment

Being a Prude, I am not unaccustomed to coming late to the game party.  In fact, I rather revel in it.   Remember back when myspace was all the rage…well I was still developing my cyber-alter ego.  Then when facebook swept myspace, instead of jump on the bandwagon I wrestled with the late but still innovative idea of tweeting.  Finally I gave up all hopes of expanding my direct social network and instead created a blog in 2011, only about a decade or so after everyone else started.  However, I do think there is something to be said for coming late to the party.  For starters I can take my time, evaluate the situation, assess the risks, weigh the outcomes and then when everyone else has exhausted, bored or disgusted themselves, I can very casually say, “you know I never got into that one.”

There are two major exceptions to this trend, when it comes to tech tools that will make my everyday life easier and when it comes to supplements and foods that will make my body stronger.  For this reason I’m almost ashamed to admit that I am just now discovering the “miracle of the mediterranean,” Oil of Oregano.

Oil of Oregano is a natural substance that is extracted from Wild Oregano Plants.  Not to be confused with that thing you shake into your pastas and stews called Origanum Marjoram, Oregano Oil is a highly potent purifier.  Its main and active ingredients are carvacrol and thymol.  And from what I gather it can be taken internally and externally to help rectify a multitude of ailments.  I “discovered,” Oil of Oregano while preparing for my 21 day detox (details coming soon).

Due to its highly effective anti-fungal properties, Oil of Oregano basically dehydrates or kills germs and fungi while leaving good bacteria in the body.  Some general benefits of this supplement, courtesy of homeremediesweb.com are:

  • Destroying organisms that contribute to skin infections and digestive problems.
  • Strengthening the immune system.
  • Increasing joint and muscle flexibility.
  • Improving respiratory health.
This and other sites also contend that it will help with skin infections, digestive issues, sinus infections and colds and sore throats.
So like all super supplement folks I hurriedly looked for a brand that was in my price range and had at least 70% carvacrol.  When my package arrived I placed the .5oz bottle in my supplement cabinet and thought “perhaps I’ll use it in a few weeks,”  because I am still taking maintenance supplements from my detox and didn’t want to have too many things going on as it would make it more confusing to discern where my health benefits and changes were actually coming from.  Anyway I put it aside and later that day took my little guy out for a couple of errands.  One of them was a trip to this really fun yarn shop to get a belated birthday present.  While there, little one decided to not only pull all the carefully placed balls of yarn off the shelves, but also to stick something that I can quite honestly only describe as a round piece of wood into his mouth.  By the time I saw him it was already too late.  Contact was made, microscopic germs met a two-year old immune system and later that night he began to cough.  And even later that night he did not sleep.  And in the wee hours of the following morning he was stuffed up.
 
Like all good mothers, I soothed him, gave him a warm bath to break up the congestion and then I made him an anti-oxidant rich smoothie and put one drop of this miracle cold cure into it.  I then prepared another smoothie for myself and put about three drops into it.  From all the reviews I read, it seems that taking this oil at the onset or feeling of a cold is extremely effective in boosting your immune system and combatting the cold before it drags you down.
So what is my review of this miracle oil…this mediterranean treasure.  It is this.  For children under the age of three who will inevitably eat, lick, suck, or snort many things that would make you cringe, its fifty-fifty.  While it doesn’t hurt them to take it even after a cold starts, they also need to build up their immunity, and this stuff can be expensive.   Though you may find it useful to shorten the length and extent of their cold.   Now for moms, dads, grand parents and other care givers who will be tasked with soothing, cooing and kissing the immune compromised little ones, take the stuff – it works.  After all, baby can be sick, but mama’s still got work to do.  Thus far, I have not caught his cold and I will continue taking the oil of oregano for the next four days (3 drop doses), until I am sure there is no way I will catch yet another cold.
Many people have also had success in treating many of the issues listed above.  If you have tried this supplement before please share your thoughts or discoveries.  Also please bear in mind this Prude is working on her PhD, not her MD, so please do your research and ask a professional before taking anything I recommend.

Image courtesy of the really cool yarn store, otherwise known as Stich House

Sincerely,
Prude

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oil of Oregano…where have you been all my life? at The Prude Papers.

meta

